With one week remaining in the regular season, the College Football Playoff race has taken a new turn.

Ohio State has been expelled from the Big Ten Conference. Michigan is in command. After winning the Iron Bowl, Alabama is still alive, but let’s face it: Is this the squad that will halt Georgia’s SEC demolition?

Michigan finally beats Ohio State

Michigan had to play Ohio State eight times over the course of a decade to even the score. The Wolverines’ 42-27 victory was highlighted by five touchdowns on their last five drives, including a heartbreaking march after the Buckeyes had been within a score. Coach Jim Harbaugh has won his first game in this series, one year after his status as head coach of the team was seriously questioned on his return to Michigan.

Alabama wins an Iron Bowl

Bryce Young led Alabama to a game-tying score with less than a minute remaining, and the Crimson Tide defeated Auburn 24-22 in 4 overtimes, as the Iron Bowl was decided on two-point conversions. There was nothing to enjoy offensively except for that late drive, which featured Young enduring four quarters of pounding from Auburn’s defensive line and producing what may have been the highlight-reel play of his Heisman Trophy campaign.

Oklahoma State takes Bedlam

It’s appropriate that Oklahoma’s defense stepped up and produced one of the finest victories of the Mike Gundy era in the end. After surrendering 24 points in the 1st half — the Cowboys had surrendered a total of 23 points in November prior to Saturday — the defense threw a shutout in the 2nd half, while the offense capitalized on Oklahoma’s flaws to earn the 37-33 victory.

Wisconsin flops against Minnesota

Wisconsin was one victory away from securing the Big Ten West, but fell 23-13 to rival Minnesota, therefore eliminating the Badgers from contention for the New Year’s Six. Rather than that, Iowa, who defeated Nebraska on Friday, will face the Wolverines. The defeat was not anticipated — Wisconsin is notorious for its inconsistency — but it is still surprising if that makes sense: Minnesota has won this series only twice since 2004.